District of Columbia Election Results

The only federal race in the nation’s capital is the election for the District of Columbia’s nonvoting representative in Congress.

Eleanor Holmes Norton, a Democrat who has been in the House since 1991, is heavily favored for re-election, as is Muriel E. Bowser in her bid for a second term as mayor.

Also at stake: seven seats on the 13-member Council, which effectively functions as both a city council and a state legislature (with congressional oversight). The District of Columbia is among the most Democratic areas of the nation: President Trump won just 4 percent of the city’s vote in 2016.

U.S. Delegate

Norton* Eleanor Holmes Norton*Democrat Dem.199,12487.7%
Rimensnyder Nelson RimensnyderRepublican Rep.9,7004.3%
Stracuzzi Natale StracuzziD.C. Statehood D.C. S.G.8,6363.8%
Cheeks John CheeksIndependent Ind.5,5092.4%
Majors Bruce MajorsLibertarian Lib.4,0341.8%
Others Others 9,5434.2%

227,003 votes, 100% reporting (143 of 143 precincts)

– Show fewer candidates

* Incumbent


Bowser* Muriel E. Bowser*Democrat Dem.162,19979.5%
Wilcox Ann WilcoxD.C. Statehood D.C. S.G.19,9799.8%
Canter Dustin CanterIndependent Ind.14,7837.2%
Moulton Martin MoultonLibertarian Lib.7,1523.5%

204,113 votes, 100% reporting (143 of 143 precincts)

* Incumbent

Attorney General

Racine* Karl Racine*Democrat Dem.196,76693.3%
Henchman Joe HenchmanLibertarian Lib.14,0846.7%

210,850 votes, 100% reporting (143 of 143 precincts)

* Incumbent